After talking about Noah, The author of Hebrews talks about the Patriarchs, namely Abraham. Later on Abraham was further expounded.

Abraham

His Past
The story of Abraham is recorded from Gen 11-25. The book initially began with Terah (his father), moving away from Ur of the Chaldean. Ur of the Chaldean is one of the major city. Terah left Ur for the land of Canaan, but on route to Canaan, he stopped at Haran and stayed there.

God’s promise, and Abraham’s reaction
God then appeared to Abraham when he is 75 years old and gave him an order (Gen 12:1-3)

“Get out of your country,
      From your family
      And from your father’s house,
      To a land that I will show you.

 2 I will make you a great nation;
      I will bless you
      And make your name great;
      And you shall be a blessing.

 3 I will bless those who bless you,
      And I will curse him who curses you;
      And in you all the families of the earth shall be blessed.”

Abraham’s faith is demonstrated at this point as he immediately began moving out to the unknown. If one would notice, Gods did not tell him where to go, or what he intended to do. He only promised him to protect him. Moving away from a place where one is familiar with is not foreign to Abraham, as Terah has did so before.  It requires tremendous amount of trust in God, and obedience to move off from ones comfort zone. Abraham’s act of faith here is manifested strongly. Especially in his obedience and trust in God.

God promised Abraham the land of Israel (Gen 12:7), but if we were to follow on to his story, we would notice that Abraham did not own the land, even his sons Issac and his grandson jacob did not really own the land, in the very end, when Sarah his wife died, he still need to purchase a plot of land for her burial (Gen 23)

The ultimate goals in Abraham’s faith
Just as our description, the author of Hebrews drew the same conclusion, that Abraham did not get the land as he said” Abraham dwelt in the land of promise as in a foreign country.” He and his sons and grandson all dwelt in tents under this same promise (Heb 11 8-9). Ultimately, all of them can see a reward that is much far reaching. They disregarded the world blessings that God would want to give them, and they dwell in tents, waiting for the city which has foundations, whose builder and maker is God. A much better land (Heb 11:10).

Hence the faith of Abraham is that he believes that God has something better for him, although God has not fulfilled the worldly blessings that he promised, he backed that faith by willingly giving up the stable life in Haran and to dwell in tents, to demonstrate his faith.

Abraham’s faith in our lives
As Christians, we all understood that our hope is not in this life, and we all understand God the same way as Abraham. We all knew that Jesus purhased us with a price and the final result is to go to the city which has foundations, whose builder and maker is God. We must learn the faith of Abraham, to be willing to move out of the zones that we are comfortable with, to take the walk with God in our christian Journey. We must recognize that this world is never our home, and our real home is in Heaven.

With this i would like to share the a hymn “This world is not my home”

This World is not My Home

This world is not my home, I’m just a passing through;
My treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue.
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door,
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.

Chorus:
Oh, Lord you know I have no friend like You,
If heaven’s not my home, then Lord what will I do?
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door,
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.

I have a loving mother up in glory land,
And I don’t expect to stop until I shake her hand.
She’s waiting now for me in heaven’s open door,
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.
(Chorus:)

Just up in glory land we’ll live eternally;
The saints on every hand are shouting victory.
Their songs of sweetest praise drift back from heaven’s shore,
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.
(Chorus:)

 

